Socks, Sandals, and Normcore Thoughts

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageTop: Forever 21||Pants: Express||Shoes: Birkenstock||Clutch: Target||Sunglasses: Forever 21 similar here||Jewlery: Vintage||Socks: similar here {Shot by: Miriam Taylor}

Unless you are like me and research fashion daily, you are probably thinking what is on her feet? Is this not a major fashion faux-pas? Well, it is but it isn’t. To put it simply, the Olsen’s wore socks and Birkenstocks the other day, and they do no wrong in my eyes, so no this is not a faux-pas. To many others, the Birkenstock, or the “ugly sandal,” is a no go in itself, let alone pairing them with socks. This style of shoe was shown down the runways at Celine, Prada, and Givenchy, so get on that. The socks and sandals were shown down some runways as well, but was strongly brought into light by street style mavens. I personally am embracing it, I liked my outfit, I was comfortable and got to wear my new shoes!

Style forecasters have called the theory of normcore, blending in by dressing in what is perceived as “normal”, the biggest thing of the decade. Think an average family of tourists in NYC, Seinfeld, or someone like my beloved father whose style rivals Steve Jobs iconic look, that is normcore. I am not sure if I should be honored or ashamed that this style is strongly inspired by the people of the Midwest. Are we finally having our fashion moment?! Honestly I am not quite sure how excited I am about this. I am a little bitch and roll my eyes at people who are not at least trying to look presentable, it is not that hard, and if I embrace this trend will people who aren’t psychos about fashion do that to me? It already happened when I was getting frozen yogurt, I knew what she was thinking, I just put my toppings on and thought, “you’ll understand one day.” Then I realized no you won’t because most people dress like this, and that is what makes normcore so interesting. I honestly do not see people who simply enjoy fashion diving head first into this trend, because why wouldn’t one want to stand out? At the same time, even when the Olsen’s rocked it, they still looked like something special (the crocodile bag helped), and that is what I personally see happening with normcore. People will visit the ugly or the “normal,” but will still maintain a sense of themselves, which is what clothing and trends are about really. What are your thoughts?

bisous, Mack.

 

11 thoughts on “Socks, Sandals, and Normcore Thoughts

  1. I’m never going to be a fan, I don’t think, because there are just certain things I don’t like and wouldn’t want to wear. (Hello, mom jeans.) But I think that the fashion people who are going to do it will at least be doing it with style. For example, you’re wearing normal pieces, but they’re nice, well-fitting normal pieces. But I also don’t think anyone uninitiated will realize it’s a fashion statement. 😉

    Shani x
    She Dreams in Perfect French

    • I totally see where you’re coming from! I integrated it with my personal style and it worked (I think haha) I wouldn’t go as far as being a full on “normcore” because that just isn’t my style. Maybe i’ll simplify my wardrobe a bit but I will maintain a sense of myself. Which is how all trends should be anyway! xx

  2. Normcore is one fashion trend I don’t see myself getting on board with, but I do love seeing street style snaps of it. And I’m definitely with you on the fact that the Olsen’s can do no wrong!!

    Jessie at Blush and Blonde

    • I know.. the Olsen’s are so amazing. hahah I am not 100% on it and I don’t think I ever will be, but I am not going to lie I don’t hate the socks & birkenstocks. Or just birkenstocks. xx

  3. I actually find this fascinating! Thanks for opening my eyes to normcore. I think I end up doing a lot of this on accident by living in a small town, because actually knowing a thing or two about fashion is somewhat taboo because you’ll stick out like a sore thumb.

    • Thank you! I never thought I would see the day, but I saw the Olsen’s wearing it and decided I absolutely had to try. haha I liked it, definitely won’t be my go to look, but it was fun! xx

  4. Pingback: Mack’s Musts for Spring | bisous, Mack.

What do you think?!